Fox Valley Symphony Holds Annual Meeting

June 25, 2009

Fox Valley Symphony


APPLETON (June 25, 2009) – The Fox Valley Symphony Orchestra Board of Directors held its annual meeting on June 22, 2009.

The annual meeting commenced with a year-end review presented by Renee Boldt, president of the Board, and Marta Weldon, executive director. The Symphony highlighted its many successes during the 2008-2009 season including its four youth and education programs and the production of Bizet’s opera Carmen as well as thanked its 516 donors for their generous support. Treasurer Barbara Ristau then provided an overview of the Symphony’s current financial situation. The Fox Valley Symphony Orchestra Association, Inc. will end the 2008-2009 season with a modest surplus.

Mary Harp-Jirschele, immediate past president and vice president governance, announced the slate of new officers and members for the 2009-2010 season. The board of directors elected eleven new members including Nicole Doebert, Jeffrey Hahn, James Heiks, Patrick Jermain, Janie Kinder, James Miron, Audrey Nowak, Margie Rankin, Michelle Richard, Karen Toshner and Christopher Winter. Officers for the 2009-10 season include Renee Boldt, board president; Phil Snyder, president elect; Barbara Ristau, treasurer and vice president finance; Anne Hultgren-Dean, secretary; Mark Shropshire, vice president development; Susan Toussaint, vice president education; Mary Harp-Jirschele, vice president governance; and Bill Harke, vice president marketing. Retiring Board Members Joseph Filosi, Sally Mielke, Don Hietpas, Mark Feldmann, Christopher Schmidt, Jon Gilliland and Michael Ratsch were also recognized. Retiring Concertmaster Janet Bond Sutter was also acknowledged for her eighteen seasons as concertmaster.

The Fox Valley Symphony BRAVO Awards, awarded to individuals, corporations and organizations that show a high level of commitment to the Fox Valley Symphony, were given to Appleton and the Mielke Family Foundation. Both Appleton and the Mielke Family Foundation have provided outstanding support to not only the Fox Valley Symphony but other community arts organizations as well.

Lastly, Mark Shropshire, vice president of development, provided a special note of gratitude to the six donors that contributed $45,000 to be used as a challenge grant to generate individual donations. Tom and Renee Boldt, Robert and Bonnie Buchanan and John and Sally Mielke’s generosity produced an additional $45,000 in revenue to support live symphonic music and music education in the community. The challenge goal was officially reached with a final contribution received at the annual meeting.

Our Proud Sponsors
View all sponsors